San Diego Mayor Faulconer Names Chiefs of Staff

The head of the San Diego County Taxpayers Association was one of three people named today to be deputy chiefs of staff under incoming Mayor Kevin Faulconer.

Felipe Monroig will serve as the chief of community engagement, according to Faulconer, who takes office on Monday. Monroig previously was on the staff of former Councilman Carl DeMaio.

"Felipe's experience at City Hall makes him the perfect leader for my community inclusion program," Faulconer said. "As a fluent Spanish speaker, Felipe will manage a diverse team that will work to communicate with all San Diegans."

Monroig will step down as president and CEO of the taxpayers association March 7 and assume his new role March 10.

"I am incredibly proud of the work Felipe accomplished on behalf of taxpayers, and am excited about his new role with the city's administration," said Greg Stein, SDCTA's board chairman.

Economic policy analyst Sean Karafin will serve as the organization's interim president and CEO until a successor is hired.

Faulconer also announced that longtime communications advisor Matt Awbrey will be a deputy chief of staff in charge of communications, and that Jaymie Bradford will be deputy chief of staff for policy.

Bradford served on the staff of ex-Mayor Jerry Sanders and recently took a leave of absence with the San Diego Association of Governments to assist Interim Mayor Todd Gloria.

—City News Service


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »