.

Poll: Is Mitt Romney Right About Poor Quality of ‘New Media’ Coverage?

GOP hopeful says he misses the days of two or more sources per story, with at least one named.

Mitt Romney, the GOP presidential front-runner with a La Jolla beach home being remodeled, would like to renovate online media coverage as well. In a talk Wednesday at the American Society of Newspaper Editors meeting in Washington, Romney said: “In some of the new media, I find myself missing the presence of editors to exercise quality control. ... I miss the days of two or more sources for a story—when at least one source was actually named.” Is Romney right in his critique of “new media”?  Or has he left out free-press considerations?

Doug Curlee April 05, 2012 at 06:40 PM
yes, he is absolutely correct about "new media"..the practitioners of that form of "news" are not much contstrained by the controls we had to execise in the days before this all came about.. i always sourced my stories.. always had a producer or editor (much the same function in a television newsroom) look over my stories bedfore they were edited.. when i was out doing live shots, i did my level best to NOT speculate, or report things i wasn't sure of..i reported what i saw and heard from sources who would be in a position to know the information i needed.. that really doesn't happen anymore..and by and large, news executives don't seem to care..the almighty ratings race is paramount..pretty much the attitude is.."we'll get it FIRST now..we'll worry about getting it RIGHT later.." call it waht you want.. but DON'T call it journalism.. it isn't.. and never will be again.. doug
Things I Learned April 05, 2012 at 11:37 PM
Can't imagine where Romney is coming from: "Haley forced to sit through joke about Sikhism Just minutes after explaining why she converted from Sikhism to Christianity, Nikki Haley was asked this question by a TIME editor. "In New York City, which you're visiting for a couple of days, a lot of our taxi drivers are Sikhs. If you get one, are you going to give them a slightly bigger tip?" Even if you get past the question itself, the context makes it even more insensitive, considering Haley had just explained why she was no longer a Sikh. The exchange comes at the very end." http://gop12.thehill.com/2012/04/haley-forced-to-sit-through-joke-about.html
Things I Learned April 05, 2012 at 11:40 PM
No idea at all: "The large crowd at the luncheon yesterday gave President Obama a standing ovation after he finished his sharply partisan campaign speech. After Romney finished his speech today, the crowd remained in their seats," http://campaign2012.washingtonexaminer.com/blogs/beltway-confidential/press-sits-mitt-gives-obama-standing-ovation/464191
Things I Learned April 05, 2012 at 11:52 PM
What exactly is Romney's beef with the media again? http://splicd.com/8_5hww4HNDQ/93/135
Komfort April 06, 2012 at 01:42 AM
Back in the day, the cause of the largest blackout in So. Cal. History, would have been flushed out by turkey carcass cleaning reporters. Those were the days.
Things I Learned April 06, 2012 at 02:33 AM
Still don't understand Romney's concern about the lack of basic fact-checking and unsourced spin presented as "news" instead of an in-kind contribution to Obama 2012: http://poorrichardsnews.com/post/20412793566/it-begins-media-smears-ann-romney-suggests-she
Doug Curlee April 06, 2012 at 03:57 AM
komfort.. you'vre been told what caused the blackout.. you just don't want to accept it..a mistake made by a worker over in the desert caused the surge that eventually dominoed the system, causing overloads and a shutdown.. exactly what mistake he made is still being looked at.. but the overall cause is what it was.. deal with it.. doug
Vincent Wallgren, Jr. April 06, 2012 at 03:38 PM
No. The term "new media" can but translate to the internet; which, at it's essence, is the single greatest advancement to the dissemination of information since the introduction of the printing press. While I'd hardly consider Tweeter, FB or MS to be "media," they could be seen as an ad-hoc version of a library's Dewey Decimal System; providing cyber space links to information sources. I suspect that status-quo, flip-flopping politicians (such as Romney) most fear "new media" exposure of their past duplicitous, politically specious pandering.
BP April 06, 2012 at 06:40 PM
When people are free to disseminate lies and/or opinion, to a large audience under the guise of "news", it is not a matter of "free press", it is irresponsible at least, and criminal at worst. Without the possibility of attributable verification or named sources it often simply becomes divisive noise and propoganda. There is nothing wrong with lending your opinion to a subject, and as they say, you are entitled to your own opinion but not to your own facts.
Vincent Wallgren, Jr. April 06, 2012 at 07:51 PM
Very true, BP. Regardless the endeavor, absent absolute objective truth, the outcomes can never be righteous or just.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something